INSTITUTE OF FOREST GENETICS & TREE BREEDING

(Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education)
P. B. No. 1061, COIMBATORE - 641 002, INDIA

NATIONAL CONFERENCE

ON

TOWARDS RESILIENT ECOSYSTEMS: THE ROLE OF FORESTRY RESEARCH

Venue: IFGTB – Auditorium

PROGRAMME SCHEDULE

DAY 1: 08.05.2018

Inauguration of Exhibition showcasing ICFRE Technologies 9.15 AM – 9.30 AM

Inaugural session: 9.30 AM - 11.15 AM

Welcome Address & Conference Overview: Dr. Mohit Gera, IFS, Director, IFGTB

Felicitation address: Shri S.D. Sharma, IFS, Dy. Director General (Research),

ICFRE

Key Note Address by Guest of Honour: Dr. S. C. Gairola, IFS, Director General,

ICFRE, Dehra Dun

Inaugural Address by Chief Guest: Shri. Siddhanta Das, IFS, Director General of

Forest & Special Secretary, MoEF & CC

Vote of Thanks: Dr. S. Murugesan, Group Co-ordinator (Research), IFGTB &

Convener

Tea Break: 11.15 AM - 11.45 AM

Session - I Vulnerability Assessment 11.45 AM -1.00 PM

Chair: Shri. Siddhanta Das, IFS, DGF & SS, MoEF&CC Co-chair: Dr. R. S. C. Jayaraj, IFS, Director, RFRI

Lead Talk (30 minutes)

Dr. (Ms) B. Meenakumari, Chairperson, National Biodiversity Authority, GoI

	Invited Presentations – (15 minutes each)	
1.	Dr. Rajiv Kumar Chaturvedi , Senior Researcher, IISc, Bangalore	
2.	Dr. A. Ramachandran, IFS, Professor – Emeritus, Anna University, Chennai	
Panel Discussion		

Lunch Break 1.00 PM - 2.00 PM

Session - II Tree Improvement and Biotechnological Strategies for Climate Resilience 2.00 PM - 3.30 PM

Chair: Dr. C. T. S. Nair, Former Chief Economist, FAO Forestry Department Co-chair: Dr. B. Gurudev Singh, Scientist-G (Retd.) & Former GCR, IFGTB

Lead Talk (30 minutes) Dr. R. Vasudeva, Professor, College of Forestry, Sirsi, Karnataka

	Invited Presentations - (15 minutes each)
1.	Dr. James Jacob, Director, Rubber Research Institute, Kottayam, Kerala
2.	Dr. A. Nicodemus, Scientist-F & Head, Genetics & Tree Breeding Division, IFGTB

Panel Discussion

Tea Break: 3.30 - 4.00 PM

Session - III Harnessing Forest Genetic Resources For Climate Resilience and Forest Health 4.00 PM - 5.30 PM

Chair: Dr. Neelu Gera, IFS, DDG (Education) & Director (IC), ICFRE Co-chair: Dr. V.P. Tewari, Director, HFRI, Shimla

Lead Talk (30 minutes)

Dr. R.R. Hanchinal, Former Chairperson, PPVFRA, GoI, New Delhi

	Invited Presentations – (15 minutes each)			
1.	Dr. V. B. Ramana Murthy, IFS, PCCF, Andhra Pradesh, State Forest Department			
2.	Dr. Z. Abraham, Scientist (Retd), NBPGR			
3.	Dr. R. V. Varma, Former Chairman, Kerala State Biodiversity Board, Kerala.			
	Panel Discussion			
	7.00 PM - 9.00 PM Cultural Programme and Conference Dinner			

DAY 2: 09.05.2018

DAY 2: 09.05.2018			
Session - IV Adaptive Forest Management: Issues And Challenges 9.30 AM – 11.00 AM			
Chair: Dr. Savita, IFS, Director, FRI, Dehra Dun Co-chair: Dr Jagmohan Sharma, IFS, APCCF, Karnataka State Forest Department			
Lead Talks (25 minutes) 1. Dr. Saibal Dasgupta, IFS, ADGF (FC) & Director General, FSI, MoEF & CC, GoI 2. Dr. C. T. S. Nair, Former Chief Economist, FAO Forestry Department			
Invited Presentations – (10 minutes each)			
1. Dr. T. Sekar, IFS, Former PCCF, Tamilnadu State Forest Department, Chennai			
2. Shri. T. Rabikumar, IFS, Secretary, National Biodiversity Authority, GoI			
3. Ratnakar Jauhari, IFS, CCF, Andhra Pradesh, State Forest Department			
Panel Discussion			
TEA BREAK - 11.00 – 11.30 AM			
Session - V Climate-Smart Forestry: Research And Management 11.30 AM - 1.00 PM			
Chair: Dr. Saibal Dasgupta, IFS, ADGF (FC) & Director General, FSI, MoEF & CC, GoI Co-chair: Shri Surendra Kumar, IFS, Director, IWST, Bangalore			
Lead Talk (30 minutes)			
Dr. M. H. Swaminath, IFS, PCCF (Retd.), SFD, Karnataka Invited Presentations – (15 minutes each)			
Invited Presentations — (12 initiates each)			
1. Dr. K. N. Murthy, IFS, PCCF & MD, Karnataka State Forest Industries Corporat	ion Ltd.		
2. Dr Jagmohan Sharma, IFS, APCCF, Karnataka State Forest Department			
Panel Discussion			
Lunch Break 1.00 PM - 2.00 PM			
Session - VI Wrap-up: Drafting of Recommendations 2.00 PM - 3.30 PM			
Chairman: Dr. S. C. Gairola, IFS, Director General, ICFRE, Dehra Dun Co-Chairman: Dr. Mohit Gera, IFS, Director, IFGTB, Coimbatore			
Panelists: Dr. C. T. S. Nair, Former Chief Economist, FAO Forestry Department Dr. James Jacob, Director, Rubber Research Institute, Kottayam, Kerala			
Tea 3.30 PM – 4.00 PM			